India has 36 Flying Training Organizations operating at 57 bases

Currently, there are 36 Flying Training Organizations (FTOs) in India operating at 57 bases, which are imparting flying training to cadets.

In the year 2022, Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) issued a record 1165 Commercial Pilot Licenses (CPLs) to cater to the requirement of the industry.

Following are the steps taken by the Government to increase pilot training schools:-

(i) In 2020, Ministry of Civil Aviation approved liberalized FTO guidelines wherein the concept of airport royalty (revenue share payment by FTOs to AAI) has been abolished and land rentals have been significantly rationalized.

(ii) In 2021, after a competitive bidding process, AAI awarded nine FTO slots at five airports at Belagavi (Karnataka), Jalgaon (Maharashtra), Kalaburagi (Karnataka), Khajuraho (Madhya Pradesh) and Lilabari (Assam).

Currently, six of these Flying Training Organizations slots are operational: one each at Jalgaon, Lilabari, Khajuraho, Belagavi and two at Kalaburagi.

(iii) In June 2022, after a competitive bidding process, six more FTO slots were awarded by AAI at five airports namely: Bhavnagar (Gujarat), Hubballi (Karnataka), Kadapa (Andhra Pradesh), Kishangarh (Rajasthan) and Salem (Tamil Nadu).  Currently, one FTO slot at Salem (Tamil Nadu) is operational.

(iv) DGCA modified its regulations to empower Flying Instructors with the right to authorise flight operations at FTOs.

This will help increase the flying hours and aircraft utilisation at each FTO and lead to faster completion of the CPL requirements.

This information was given by the Minister of State in the Ministry of Civil Aviation Gen. (Dr) V. K. Singh (Retd).