IAF to procure 100 more indigenous LCA Mark 1A fighter jets

The Indian Air Force (IAF) has officially announced its intention to procure about 100 additional indigenously manufactured LCA Mark 1A fighter jets.

This would be in addition to the 83 LCA Mark 1A aircraft that the IAF had previously ordered in February 2021 for Rs 48,000 crore.

The Indian Air Force’s objective in acquiring these domestically produced aircraft is to phase out the older MiG-series fighter jets in its fleet.

As of now, the proposal has been formally submitted to the Indian Defence Ministry and other national security stakeholders.

To be mentioned that this decision to procure approximately 100 more LCA Tejas fighters follows a comprehensive review meeting chaired by the Indian Air Force Chief, which included key stakeholders in the indigenous fighter jet program, such as Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL).

If this order is approved and realized, it would represent a substantial expansion of the Indian Air Force’s LCA Tejas fleet.

Notably, over the next 15 years, the IAF is expected to have 40 LCA Tejas, more than 180 LCA Mark 1A, and a minimum of 120 LCA Mark-2 aircraft in its inventory.

Source: http://m.economictimes.com

About LCA Tejas

LCA Tejas is a 4.5 generation, all weather and multi-role fighter aircraft designed by the Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) in collaboration with Aircraft Research and Design Centre (ARDC) of Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) for the Indian Air Force and Indian Navy

The aircraft is designed to be a multi-role aircraft capable of taking up offensive air support, close combat and ground attack role at ease.

Further, it is also designed to undertake Ground Maritime Operations. The different variants of aircraft under production and development are:
• Single seater fighter for Air Force
• Single seater fighter for Navy 
• Twin Seater trainer aircraft for Air Force 
• Twin Seater trainer version for Navy

About LCA Tejas MK-1A fighter jets

LCA Tejas MK-1A fighter jets are the most advanced version of the LCA Tejas.

They are equipped with AESA Radar, EW suite consisting of radar warning and self-protection jamming, Digital Map Generator (DMG), Smart Multi-function Displays (SMFD), Combined Interrogator and Transponder (CIT), Advanced Radio Altimeter and other advances features.

The technical specifications of the aircraft are tabulated below:


Specification Measurement
Length 13.2 m
Width 8.2 m
Height 4.4 m
Max Takeoff Mass 13,500 Kgs
Engine GE F404 -IN20
Engine Thrust (A/B) 85KN
G limits +8g / -3.5 g
Max Speed 1.6 Mach
Service Ceiling 50,000 feet
No of Hard Points 09
The key characteristics of LCA are:
  • Smallest & lightest aircraft in its class  Dimensionally smallest which is coupled with Extensive use of composite structure to make the aircraft lighter
  • Excellent flight safety record Remarkable achievement of accident free flying.
  • Compound Tail-Less Delta Increases the capacity to carry wider range of weapons like Bombs, Missiles etc
  • In Flight Refueling (IFR) Probe Enhances range during mission undertaken. IFR capability has been proven for day and night operations.
  • Open Architecture based Mission Computer Indigenously designed which provides interoperability, scalability and portability
  • Quadruplex-Redundant Fly-By-Wire Fully redundant quadruplex digital fly-by-wire flight control system to ease handling by the pilot
  • AESA RADAR Electronically Scanned Array RADAR with low probability of interception.
  • Variety of Weapons LCA-Tejas is having 9 hard points and is capable to fire variety of weapons like Long Range BVR & WVR missiles, Bombs etc. with required precision and accuracy.

Source: https://hal-india.co.in/Product_Details.aspx?Mkey=54&lKey=&CKey=20